与许多企业一样,当 COVID-19 大流行来袭时,LaunchWorks 陷入了困境,但与其他一些制造商的方式不同。 该公司在 2020 年已经处于强劲的增长轨道上,但是当宣布就地庇护令时,进入医生办公室的机会限制了大多数现有客户群的活动。 该公司能够通过提升和扩大 COVID-19 测试套件的制造能力,利用其优势迅速实现转型。 因此,LaunchWorks 预计今年将其规模扩大两倍。 自动化是扩大规模以服务客户的关键因素。

迅速扩大规模以帮助满足该国的公共卫生需求并非易事。 该公司专注于将长期的行业供应商关系、创新思维和自动化解决方案相结合。 LaunchWorks 已经利用了自动化,但为 COVID-19 工作添加新功能和额外容量有助于从每周生产 75,000 个传输介质管转变为预计每周生产 1 万个。

从合同制造到开发

19 年前,LaunchWorks 最初是一家诊断合同制造工厂。 如今,该公司还提供设计和开发服务。 鉴于生产分子诊断试剂盒的历史,LaunchWorks 的制造服务吸引了需要 COVID-13485 测试套件开发和生产支持的新老客户,这些客户来自一家在 GMP ISO-2016:XNUMX 授权下运营的组织。 此外,当疾病控制中心 (CDC) 在今年春天分享病毒传播介质配方时,该公司开始探索生产介质的最佳方法,以作为实验室的合同制造商协助测试工作。 如今,LaunchWorks 生产基于 PCR 的诊断试剂盒以及血清学 ELISA 试剂盒。 对于一些客户,公司处理端到端的流程。 对于其他人来说,这只是制定、填充和/或实现。

通过自动化实现增长

该国正面临测试可用性挑战,没有足够的测试和/或用品供想要或需要它们的人使用。 然而,随着测试套件的增加以及更多供应商可以提供它们,测试数量正在增加。 1月8-XNUMX日,平均 美国每天进行 641,635 次测试. 相比之下,247,084 月份的测试数量从每天 487,229 到 108,521 不等。 这是从 239,407 月份开始的,XNUMX 月份每天的检测数量从 XNUMX 到 XNUMX 不等。

 

测试能力的增长与 LaunchWorks 生产的增长相似。 随着失业率上升和大学生提前返校,该公司为生命科学工作者提供暑期工作,以及因疫情暂停职业规划的大学生毕业,并招收无法完成计划实习或实习的科学领域的学生。波士顿地区的其他暑期工作。 2 月,LaunchWorks 通过添加 2nd 转移。 现在有两台新的自动化机器正在运行,第三台正在运输中。 2 月,由于自动化能力的扩大,该公司又扩大了 4 倍。 随着未来几个月内更多机器的到来,产能将再次翻倍。 由于该国的目标是每周测试超过 10 万人,LaunchWorks 将能够提供其中 1% 的采样工具。 随着所有未来机器到位,该公司每周将能够生产 XNUMX 万个管子。 缩放比例符合国家的需要。 这 哈佛大学 Edmond J. Safra 伦理中心 预计每天需要 5 万次测试才能安全地重新开放社会,每天需要进行 20 万次测试以全面恢复经济。 这是很多测试。

手动与自动填充

在自动化设备到达之前,员工手动将流体分配到容器中。 然后将管手动加盖。 一台新的自动化灌装机可以完成相同的生产数量,同时将劳动时间减少 9 倍。 此外,每天 8 小时填充和封盖管子是重复的,并且会导致工作场所安全问题。 LaunchWorks 将当前的劳动力重新分配到其他工具包的生产中,同时为该国增加了 COVID-19 测试用品。

自动化也对质量过程产生积极影响。 该公司在规范的环境中工作,并进行多项质量检查。 虽然手工灌装和机器灌装的测试套件在质量上没有区别,但质量检验过程有所不同。 手动填充时,100% 的小瓶需要检查以确保液位一致。 通过自动化,每个班次都有预定数量的检查。 LaunchWorks 的自动贴标和在线​​质量检测技术还允许对标签进行定期目视检查,而无需目视检查每个标签。

换挡能力

一旦大流行结束,灌装和封盖机将很容易重新部署用于不同的配方,使公司能够降低未来客户的制造成本,并支持 LaunchWorks 扩大其他项目的能力。 在过去的三十年里,自动化改变了生命科学制造业,现在它也在做同样的事情来帮助该国生产 COVID-19 测试套件。

请通过以下方式与公司联系 www.launchworksCDMO.com 了解有关自动化程序的更多信息以及 LaunchWorks 如何帮助您的公司满足其生命科学合同和开发制造需求。

Like many businesses, LaunchWorks was thrown for a loop when the COVID-19 pandemic hit, but not in the same way as some other manufacturers. The company was already on a strong growth trajectory for 2020, but when shelter-in-place mandates were announced, access to doctors’ offices limited the activity of most of the existing customer base. The company was able to harness its strengths to quickly pivot by promoting and expanding COVID-19 test kit manufacturing capabilities. As a result, LaunchWorks anticipates tripling its size this year.  Automation is a key factor in scaling up to serve clients.

Expanding that quickly to help meet the country’s public health needs is not a simple task. The company focused on a combination of long-term industry supplier relationships, innovative thinking and automation solutions. LaunchWorks already utilized automation, but adding new functionality and additional capacity for the COVID-19 efforts helped move from producing 75,000 transport media tubes a week to an anticipated 1 million per week.

From contract manufacturing to development

Twelve years ago, LaunchWorks began as a contract manufacturing facility for diagnostics. Today the company offers design and development services as well. Given the history of producing kits for molecular diagnostics, LaunchWorks’ manufacturing services attracted current and new clients needing support with COVID-19 testing kit development and production, from an organization operating under GMP ISO-13485:2016 authority. In addition, when the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) shared the viral transport media recipe this spring, the company began exploring the best ways to produce the media to assist in the testing efforts as a contract manufacturer for laboratories. Today LaunchWorks produces PCR-based diagnostic kits as well as serology ELISA kits. For some clients, the company handles the process from end-to-end. For others, it’s just formulation, filling and/or fulfillment.

Growth through automation

The country is experiencing testing availability challenges, with not enough tests and/or supplies for those who want or need them. Test numbers are rising, though, as testing kits ramp up and more providers can offer them. From July 1-8, an average of 641,635 tests were used per day in the U.S. Compare that to May, when testing numbers ranged from 247,084 to 487,229 per day. And that’s up from April, where daily testing numbers ranged from 108,521 to 239,407 daily.

 

The growth seen in testing capacity is similar to the growth in LaunchWorks’ production. As the unemployment rate rose and college kids returned home from school early, the company offered summer jobs to life science workers, graduating college students whose career plans were paused by the pandemic, and enrolled students in scientific fields who were unable to complete planned internships or other summer work in the Boston area. In June LaunchWorks scaled 2X by adding a 2nd shift. Now two new automation machines are operating, with a third in transit. In July the company scaled another 2X due to expanded automation capacity. With additional machines arriving in the next couple of months, the capacity will again double. As the country is on target to test more than 4 million people a week, LaunchWorks will be able to supply 10% of those sampling tools. With all future machines in place the company will be able to produce 1 million tubes a week. The scaling aligns with the country’s need. The Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics at Harvard University anticipates needing 5 million tests a day for a safe social reopening, increasing to 20 million tests per day to fully remobilize the economy. That’s a lot of testing.

Manual versus automated filling

Prior to the automation equipment’s arrival, employees manually dispensed the fluid into containers. The tubes were then manually capped. One new automated filler can complete the same production numbers while reducing the labor hours by a factor of 9X. Additionally, filling and capping tubes 8 hours a day is repetitive and lends itself to workplace safety issues. LaunchWorks redistributed the current workforce to production of other kits while increasing COVID-19 testing supplies for the country.

The automation also positively affects the quality process. The company works in a regulated environment with many quality checks. While there is no difference in quality between hand-filled and machine-filled test kits, the quality inspection process differs. When filled manually, 100% of the vials need inspection to ensure the fluid level is consistent. With automation, there are a predetermined number of checks each shift. LaunchWorks’ automated labeling and inline quality inspecting technology allows for periodic visual inspections of the labeling as well, with no need to visually review every label.

Shifting capacity

Once the pandemic ends, the filling and capping machines will be easily redeployed for different formulations, allowing the company to reduce the cost of manufacturing for future customers and supporting LaunchWorks’ increase in ability to scale other projects. Automation transformed the life sciences manufacturing industry over the past three decades, and it’s doing the same to help the country now with COVID-19 test kit production.

Please reach out to the company at www.launchworksCDMO.com to learn more about the automation program and how LaunchWorks can help your company with its life sciences contract and development manufacturing needs.